Bloat

I’m really sick of being wrong.

Re: my upcoming novel (duh, what else do I talk about these days?)

My previous assertion that 145,000 words would end up being about 360 pages was both true and false. In a Word document with Times New Roman font at size 12, with double spaces between paragraphs, that’s exactly what it is.

Poured into a .pdf file, 360 pages somehow turns into a mammoth 527 pages. This behemoth has been puffed out to the actual size it will be when put on sale — I just confirmed with my editor.

Basically this. This man has clearly gone insane with the unmitigated size of my novel.

Basically this. This man has clearly gone insane with the unmitigated size of my novel.

If I had any strength left, I would do my normal wailing that it isn’t my fault. I think I’m over that now. It is what it is. I love it and I’m not ashamed anymore (though this may sound suspiciously like self-justification).

Going over it, the font is unbelievably huge. Being near-sighted, in the dark, and dangling upside down, one could still read this monster from across the room. During a severe earthquake. With one eye closed. I wouldn’t be surprised if I were to see the dotted lines across the words, like it was given to a kindergartner to knuckle out.

One whole page of my novel. (Different text, of course. Let's not be silly).

One whole page of my novel. (Different text, of course. Let’s not be silly).

It’s bloated, as though someone threw an old dictionary into a puddle of water to watch it swell like some magical dinosaur terror-sponge.

Dino_Spongers

Before and After.

Before and After.

My first thought was that someone is going to see the page count and flee immediately. There’s nothing I can do about that, or my publisher’s choice of font. Not a single word is different just because it has been poured into a .pdf file. It’s still good, despite it’s size. Or perhaps because of it. Luckily, it will be in eBook format first and Kindles (and other eReaders) have this handy feature to adjust the font.

There’s no need to fret, mainly because there’s nothing I can do about it now. It’s long, but not the bloated monstrosity it will seem. I hope people will give it a chance.

~ by Darren Endymion on August 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
