Musical Inspiration

Inspiration comes from the most varied of places. Mine seems to come very often from music. And frequently, it is totally random and completely laughable.

There are the obvious dramatic songs that inspire me to think of great battles, or heinous fights, or magical battles, or the like. These are songs like Storm by Vanessa Mae (which sounds to me like a giant X-Men fight), The Battle from The Gladiator soundtrack, Our Solemn Hour by Within Temptation, O Fortuna the Apotheosis remix, just about anything from The Lord of the Rings soundtracks, or One Winged Angel from Advent Children/Final Fantasy VII. (You want dramatic battle music? Choose any of those.)

Then I get the random ones, ones that build entire scenes in my head: full, complete, unearthed, and striking. And they are usually from the most innocuous, strange, and unexpected sources.

Once I was inspired by a Cyndi Lauper song, A Part Hate, to create an entire race of fantasy characters based solely on two lines. Characters I have yet to see the likeness of elsewhere.

Another time (and this one is just funny) I thought up an entire, dramatic, storm-commanding merman scene in the last 30 or so seconds of a song. The song? *snort, snicker* Your Disco Needs You by Kylie Minogue. It was such a dramatic scene, but the inspiration is a light, fun, gay-as-hell 70’s style dance song. I can’t explain my brain. Seriously.

On a more serious note (ha!), I wrote Austin’s entire shower scene while listening to Albinoni’s Adiago, Adagio in G Minor for Strings and Organ which I got from the 99 Darkest Pieces of Classical Music, available as mp3 download on Amazon. The whole album is ridiculously inexpensive there and I love that whole series—99 songs in a loose theme for $4 – $5.

Recently, while thinking of my new project, I happened to listen to Mariah Carey’s Emotions. Say what you will, I loved her flute tone when she used it well, and this was one of those times. I particularly liked the third bout of her crazy-high notes, and I pictured lightning flashes, sustained lightning, a tumultuous sea, and a shattered ship. The entire beginning scene of what I hope is my next novella wrote itself in that time.

I have had others, but these are some of the most absurd and random. Feel free to check these songs out on YouTube and laugh at my brain. Why not? I do.

~ by Darren Endymion on September 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
