Writing ‘Till My Wrists Fall Off

It would appear that my malaise has lifted. Part of my method of writing or plotting, I guess, is to write out a brief synopsis. I say “brief” but it never, ever is. It starts out that way, but as I write the thing out, I am struck with a tsunami of ideas that thread their way through the story.

That’s not to say that my characters behave as I’ve ordered them to. In fact, they rarely do. They are full of attitude and are terribly stubborn. I wonder where they get it from?

Innocent cat

What I get from the synopsis is really the interrelationships of characters, their backgrounds, and how they intertwine with the story. Then, as I actually write the story, they do what they want and I let them do it. I’m fortunate in that they usually do what I want, even if I have to threaten them.

DontMakeMeSlapYou

So, after puttering around and doubting everything about my writing (I will post that entry next time, purposefully out of chronological order), I sat down and asked myself what I wanted to write next—if anything. I thought that I would write what came out of my head.

This is what happened to my brain.

This is what happened to my brain.

Some of this story wants to be big, like out of control big. But, it’s not a big story and shouldn’t be bloated just so I can cram it full of ideas I happen to like. I need to let the story dictate everything. I realized that some of the ideas in the Nuclear Brain Incident would be better in another novel and attributed to other people whose characters they are more suited to. Plot lines spun out like silk from a meth-addicted spider’s backside. Some things I thought would go well wouldn’t, so I saved them elsewhere.

I wrote until my wrists hurt and it was well past my getting-ready-for-bed time. I have a feeling that I will think about this a great deal before sleep finally comes. I will chase down the fleeing Sandman, only to be left cussing in his wake.

Catch me, bitch.

Catch me, bitch.

It was definitely worth it.

~ by Darren Endymion on September 30, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
