Old/New Year

This year has been one of change for me, most of it good, some bad, and the rest merely change which falls into neither category.

In the past year my first novel was accepted, edited, and published. The editing process,  much-hinted at “rules” the publisher imposed, and the time frame to do it all in chafed me and I felt I needed a break. It was all a change I needed to assess and internalize during this break. I got over it, break’s over, and I’m working on something much shorter but new. Hopefully, this coming year will mirror (and expand on) the successes while diminishing my sensitivity.

I struggled with marketing (I’m lazy and generally loathe social media), and reviews (overwhelmingly positive, yet I stupidly focused on the negative). However, it was very new and I think it will all be easier in the future. I have thick skin in real life and it’s starting to cover my sensitive underbelly. It’s just a fact of life when you write and publish. I babied myself. Time to put on the big boy pants and get over it. I had some really wonderful people write to me, review my book, and read it, and that was an astounding experience I can’t separate myself from, and I can’t thank everyone enough.

I failed at setting up a writing schedule. Miserably so. I buckled down and did my edits because I had to. It made me want to fling poo at my monitor, but I did it. That will improve.

A three year relationship ended. We remain friends and overall it’s very good there.

I moved in early 2013. In early 2014 I will be moving again. *stare* I’m not pleased. I love my apartment, but I have a goal for 2015 (which, fuck my life, involves moving…again!), and this is the only way to achieve that goal.

Other than that, I can’t think of much. It has been a great year and I hope this continues. For all of us.

I wish everyone love, happiness, and joy throughout the new year.

~ by Darren Endymion on December 31, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
