Packing: Odious Soul Poison

How the hell goes a single geek accumulate so much freakin’ crap? I just moved a year ago (ugh) and I donated a ton of old books I was never going to read again, old junk with sentimental value, etc. Now that I’m packing again I’m wondering the same things — where did it all come from? Who paid for all this crap? Why did I buy it in the first place? Did I think I was going to have a display room for all my geektasmic procurements?

Lord of the Rings toys, Jen and Kira dolls from The Dark Crystal, gay (but beloved) Sailor Moon merchandise, Resident Evil figures, old Thundercats, etc. Then, we have tons of books, old diaries, stories I wrote when I was a teenager and younger (obviously influenced by Piers Anthony’s Xanth and Incarnations novels), letters and cards from deceased relatives and lost friends…

Something like this, but with more gay. And toys. (The two things not being related)

Something like this, but with more gay. And toys. (The two things not being related)

Then the clothes! I’ve been eating better and exercising a little and have lost almost 15 pounds. I’m a shorter guy, but some of the clothes I have uncovered would be too big for a guy a foot taller than me and more than double my weight. What behemoth fit into these tent-sized sheet concoctions? I know I wear my clothes big, but was I para sailing thought the office in those beasts? What the hell did I look like?

To the break room!

To the break room!

And I am loath to discuss my scarves. I live in southern California. “Winter” here is when it gets to 50 (or *gasp* below) at night. I don’t think I have ever needed or worn a scarf and certainly not in public…except to first-day showings of Harry Potter movies (a scarf seemed like too much geekdom to my friends and I, each of us wearing an appropriate House scarf. We were WAY under dressed on all occasions). Yes, I have them all. Hand crochet, wonderful, geeky, and totally impractical for me. Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, and even Hufflepuff (though who would wear this last in public?)

My point, visually stated.

My point, visually stated.

My video games? DVDs? Blu-rays? I’m far too scared to calculate even how many I have, much less their original value. Is my geekdom — of which I am inordinately, irrationally proud — weighing me down?

Has anyone seen Labyrinth with David Bowie and Jennifer Connelly? Remember that hoarder goblin in the dump with all her stuff on her back? Yeah. That’s me. Just slightly cuter. Yet, I truly enjoy all of it, it’s placed well, cleaned, used, read, etc. I’m not living in squalor amongst aisles of garbage and boxes and papers. Is it hoard? And is well maintained geek hoard different than trash?

I found this old blog post, complete with pictures, and I think it proves the point about my collections, if nothing else. While I am certainly nowhere near the level of the picture featured in that entry, I think the difference between regular/geek hoard is well stated.

http://askthedm.com/2011/08/30/geek-life-time-to-pretend/

But I have to move it all, and that makes me unhappy. It’s the only reason I’m questioning it. Given that I need to physically move my stuff makes it all seem so unnecessary. But, I get use and pleasure out of the stuff, and I have routinely culled the things which no longer please or entertain me. It gets smaller (except the movies and games, though their rate of increase has slowed to a trickle thanks to streaming and other time-eaters), and yet…

Whatever. It’s late. Back to the heap with me.

To my friends: I expect an intervention if I ever actually look like this.

To my friends: I expect an intervention if I ever actually look like this.

~ by Darren Endymion on February 10, 2014.

4 Responses to “Packing: Odious Soul Poison”

  1. A geek will find their way to get their hands on awesome stuff 🙂 Haha!

    • Haha. that’s why I can’t get rid of it all. It hurts my face to even contemplate. I end up looking like Dracula when his face melts.

  2. Thanks for linking to the blog! I have to say, I’ve been in this situation way too many times. Moving is terrible, geek or no. But moving 6 times in 4 years made me cull my collection several times, and I’m down to almost nothing now. It has its benefits and its sadness, but it sure as hell made moving a loooooooooot easier…

    • I just happened on your blog entry, and it essentially said everything I wanted to. It was great. And moving 6 times in 4 years? Sweet mother of god, I thought three times in two years was too much. *bowing to your tenacity*

Leave a Reply

 
