Life Stopping Fun

In life I have learned that there are four things which will stop my forward momentum and sweep me up in their insanity. Those things are Sailor Moon, Disgaea, Harry Potter, and Halloween.

Disgaea is a strategy role playing game with a sense of humor and the deepest system and replayability of any game I have come in contact with. Disgaea 4 recently came out in a portable version for the PS Vita, so I can take my crack anywhere.

However, almost anything in life — bad times, work horrors, relationship pain, fun times, good work — can all be stopped by getting into Harry Potter. I’m not here to tell you what that is. If you don’t know, then you are likely reading this from Mars, in a cave, with a rock pulled over the entrance and your fingers in your ears. *stealing a line from The Simpsons* I recently got an amazing deal on Amazon for the epic Blu-ray/DVD collection and have been itching to watch them and read the books. Since I’m not trying to write in urban fantasy and I want to keep focused on my writing, I have pushed it off.

Until three weeks ago. Over two weekends, a friend and I tore our way through movies 1-6. She started reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I read something much beloved and related, but am determined to finish reading my current book, Meg 4: Hell’s Aquarium by Steve Alten. But Harry Potter and my rekindling love for that whole world ripped me out of Disgaea 4 for my precious PS Vita.

And then it became September. I have wanted it to be autumn since the beginning of July. My life stops for autumn. The best season ever. I love horror movies (I’ve watched my new Blu-ray of The Fog twice in three days. Digest that.). This past weekend was spent watching Evil Dead (remake), The Fog, Nightmare on Elm Street, and others like Devil’s Pass, Dark Circles and Seconds Apart (with hottie twins, no less). My friends and I spend every single weekend from September to October together. We hang out, watch movies, and gain back any weight we have lost over the year.

The new Sailor Moon comes out every two weeks (though this week’s episode was postponed ’till next, I believe. I blame Sailor Jupiter). Disgaea is all consuming. Harry Potter trumps everything else when the mood is upon me. Unless Halloween approaches. During this time, I think I have the healthiest work-to-life ratio, incidentally. Halloween trumps life. It’s the biggest, baddest Pokemon. I read, think, listen to, and watch horror. I’m with my friends all the time. I’m happy as the weather changes (which it regrettably does very slowly and only minutely in Southern California).

So, I’m trying to write, to work out, and to go forward with the changes I have in mind. And all these things are coloring my writing. And it’s good. Horror is in the background of everything I write, though I have not yet brought this out in any significant way. Disgaea’s pumpkinheads and rereading Oz books brought the scary pumpkinheads in my short story “The Snow Queen” to life. What the hell will the Item World and thieving angels and Death Emizel do to steampunk? And horror belongs in what I’m doing with this world. Hopefully writing will be the great sponge, taking all these disparate things and allowing me to combine them into one story. I haven’t stopped writing yet, which is a wonderful sign.

As for Harry’s influence, who doesn’t need a little magic in their lives?

~ by Darren Endymion on September 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
