Sailor Moon Crystal ep. 1-13 and 1-14 — Final Battle and Conclusion

Like the last two episodes of the original anime series, the final two episodes of Sailor Moon Crystal are best taken together. And this entry will very likely be my last episode by episode review/rehash fun. Sometimes it felt like an obligation, other times it felt like fun, and though there were a few reads from time to time, nobody ever really seemed to care. I did, so I continued, but I knew that the moment it started feeling like a chore that I would see it through and then stop lest my enjoyment of the series itself be compromised.

So, let’s begin my last episode-by-episode breakdown, shall we?

Episode 13 — Final Battle — Reincarnation

This is one of those episodes where very little seemed to actually happen in that typical dramatic, flowing, epic way anime has. It’s where an entire battle can be summed up in a few sentences, but it’s always a joy to watch.

Essentially, after Sailor Moon’s stabbing spree in the last episode, this one was about undoing her psychopathic cutting mania. She and Tuxedo Mask faint away and the Silver Crystal comes out of their chests. Queen Metallia grows to the size of a city, then eats the flower-shaped Silver Crystal with the chewy center of Tuxedo Mask and Sailor Moon inside.

Metallia takes them into her body, which really does feel like she ate them like a cherry cordial. The Sailor Scouts sacrifice themselves when they feel Sailor Moon is still alive inside Metallia, only to find out that Sailor Moon’s death was stopped by the watch Tuxedo Mask gave her a while back. Ditto Tuxedo Mask with the stone-encapsulated souls of his servants — Jadite, Nephlyte, Zoicite, and Kunzite/Malachite.

So here’s my question: If Sailor Moon didn’t really kill herself and Tuxedo Mask, what the hell were they doing? Playing possum? Pretending? Taking a nap? We’ll just say that they were, like The Princess Bride taught us, MOSTLY dead.

They come to life inside Metallia as she envelops the world in a purple cloud of zombie-making stank. They escape using the Silver Crystal and Sailor Moon gets a new upgrade for the Crescent Moon Wand, sticks the Silver Crystal in the top, and shoots Queen Metallia in the giant X on her forehead. Somehow we were supposed to be surprised that this was her weak spot? It seemed at least worth a try before this, right?

Whatever. I loved in. Moving on.

Episode 14 — Conclusion and Commencement

Sailor Moon blasts the hell out of Queen Metallia with the help of all the Scouts’ spirits and Luna’s prayer (the latter of whom takes on a human form briefly). Metallia gets excited at the energy that kills her, in some weird masochistic pleasures I’d rather not get into, thanks all the same. Metallia dies after an epic battle and Sailor Moon’s transformation brooch shatters.

Luna and Artemis’ prayers revive the Moon Kingdom. Are you kidding me? I would be a selfish praying mofo. Hottie boyfriend! *pray* Beautiful house! *pray* Super powers! *pray* The ability to tase someone long distance! *pray* And so on.

When the dust settles, Tuxedo Mask shows his connection with the Earth and finds the lost spirits of the Sailor Scouts, showing that he can actually do something pretty awesome. I have to say, he was much more effective in this series than he was in the original anime.

Sailor Moon…or Serena/Usagi, I suppose…goes to the Moon, gets a new brooch, transforms (changing from Moon Prism Power to Moon Crystal Power), decides to live her life as a human girl instead of Queen of the Moon, and heals the Earth. In that healing, she learns a revive spell and the Sailor Scouts come back to life. Sailor Moon and the Sailor Scouts reunite in a very sweet scene that may or may not have had me a little bit emotional. It’s also possible that the ghastly Santa Ana winds will return in two days and it was my allergies. (Unfortunately, this latter is a fact. Uuuuuugh. F-ing Southern California!)

Happiness ensues. Everyone is happy and alive. Things are peaceful for a while.

However, what I think my favorite non-mushy part of this episode was was the end — the appearance of Rini/Chibiusa. As she falls on Serena’s head. “I broke my neck!” *cackle* Not only does it mean that the series will continue, it means that we will be treated to the Black Moon storyline. I figured the series would continue, but I thought there might be a delay. Seeing that confirmation makes me happy. Though I will miss Anne and Allen and the Doom Tree, which I loved in the original anime, I realize it was a fabrication for the anime and will not be making an appearance here. I always felt like the Black Moon story got truncated, so I won’t mind too much. I’m looking forward to it.

Thus ends my saga of Sailor Moon reviews. I may pop in and talk about the new series from time to time, and I may not. I will be watching it, though. In the meantime, I have the entire re-dub of the original anime to watch. By the time I get through the first half, the second half will be out. That’s 46 total episodes that I will NOT be blogging about in depth. I will be hogging my fun and love and enjoyment to myself. And, it just occurred to me that I don’t think I have ever watched all of Super S in Japanese, only the dub. Plus, I have the live action Sailor Moon which I have never watched.

So, don’t you worry about me. I am taken care of when it comes to Sailor Moon goodness. I just won’t inflict that on my few lovely readers.

 

~ by Darren Endymion on January 22, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
