Writing About Writing but not Actually Writing

The sad truth is that I write about writing more than I actually do it. Similarly, I think about reading more than I actually do it. The worst part is that I know that in order to be a good writer, you need to read a lot and write a lot.

It’s a problem I’m working on, and not all of it is due to a mental block. With my leg and back hurting as much as they do, sitting for too long hurts and will stiffen me up. I can’t lie on my stomach, because that further tweaks whatever is in my back and turns my spine into an ampersand. So, I try to write in small bursts, but have to lie down or stand up (ouch) or shift or lie on my side to avoid going into rigor mortis. The good part is that when I get lost in writing, I get really lost. That is also the bad, for the reasons mentioned above. I don’t have a desk at the moment because of spatial issues that are difficult to overcome. Difficult, but not insurmountable.

With the health issues I’m going through, getting a desk seems superfluous and ill advised. I live on the second floor. How would I get a desk up there, anyway, even if it was a very small adjustable one? I almost eat shit going up or down stairs in the best of times; you can imagine how I would schlep it upstairs in my current condition. If I was telekinetic, the entire issue would be resolved and several others besides. I would smite my enemies with great thoughts of mali… *ahem*

Anyway, I have decided that a proper work space and decent health are needed to really commit to something big, which I want to. (Finally.) But I can work around the edges of it, work on individual scenes or chapters, make the worksheets and charts I need to in order to flesh out the world and the characters. So, since I’m already sitting and in the dreaded position, I think I will work on that, since, like a dependent toddler, my sitting ability is finite…without doping myself up on Tramadol and Advil. And by that point, I don’t care about anything other than watching SpongeBob SquarePants.

As for the health issues, I saw one of the doctors and he thinks there is very little for me to worry about. I got all the X-ray and MRI information so I can give it to the ridiculously attractive chiropractor who can then *ahem* adjust me and *cough, blush* make me feel good.

We shall see.

~ by Darren Endymion on March 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
