Simultaneous Projects

So, with the elongating and soon to be editing (I assume) of the short story I recently had accepted for an upcoming anthology with my publisher, I am in a personally unique position of working on two writing projects at once. I have only been in this situation one other time and I didn’t do so well with it. I abandoned the new project and dove back in to editing the old one…and never picked up the new one again.

I don’t want to do that this time, but I find myself reluctant to jump into the old one. I’ve divorced myself from it. I have taken my mind out of that situation, and I’m no longer invested as I was. I read it again, and it was nice to read, but…I’m just not invested anymore. But I have to be, or when the editing process comes along, I’m going to let things slip that I shouldn’t, and not work as hard with some as with others. What I need to learn is how to balance them both.

It’s something that has to be learned. Otherwise, my output — which is already abysmal — will be reduced to nothing. If I dive into editing, that means I will be incapacitated until early summer at the earliest, and not writing anything. That will make the separation that much harder and will leave me in a funk…and what will I be doing in the meantime? Not working on myself or my writing, that’s for sure.

Also, let’s say that in the magical world of the future, I am moving toward being a mainstream author with an actual agent and all that other nonsense. The ability to diversify and do more than one thing at a time is crucial to getting more than one story out a year (my current output…one novel and two short stories so far. Kinda pathetic.) So, I’m looking forward to this opportunity to do two different things and make them both work for me at the same time. If I can get a rhythm like that, I will be a producing fool.

For now I’m just a fool. And that isn’t as fun.

~ by Darren Endymion on March 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
