Prophecy and Mythology

So, I’m currently adding to and re-editing my Mythology story to turn in as soon as I can. Since I wrote it several months ago, things have happened in my life that change the way I look at the story.

Let me explain.

The story is about the Greek gods and goddesses looking down on one human, Riley, as he tries to decide between two possible romances. To add verisimilitude, I decided to take one sentence a guy once said to me to baldly state his interest, and a single moment in time that actually happened to me as a jumping point for the second guy.

Some people will remember my ramblings about Prince Scientist at my work. No, nothing has happened. We still see each other, we still smile, we still make idle chit chat, we still act like we’re in a Jane Austen novel, but nothing more. I was watching a trite but fun gay movie recently where one of the straight characters said something like, “I’ve seen gay guys do this all the time. They will sit there and stare at each other for hours and not say one word to each  other, no matter how much they like each other. It’s like they are both waiting for the other to make the first move.” Ouch. The truth with that one smarted like I had been slapped in the face.

So, where does the prophecy part come in? Well, I used the meeting Prince Scientist and I were in when we made all that eye contact, when I realized he has a 98% chance of being gay, etc. as a springboard for two of my characters to get to know each other. Giggling to myself as I wrote it, I threw a predatory straight girl in there, and a few other imaginary details before they get to the date part.

And it’s all coming true.

I suppose it’s not that unusual. Prince Scientist is a gorgeous male. But there were things about the predatory female in the story that didn’t get written for time’s sake: she was after the character’s money and his good looks, with no care for his brain or kindness. I wasn’t really basing her off someone I know, but it turns out that it’s happening right in front of me, in real life. Both the real and the fake predators think that the object of her affections is straight, that he’s interested, and all but stalked him. And I’m watching it unfold as though what I have written is coming to life. The details that didn’t make it into the story (but which flood a writer’s mind when creating) are all there. Maybe I knew something in the back of my mind months ago that is just now coming out? I don’t know.

Here’s the kick in the ass, though: the main part I wanted to elongate was the part where the main character and this person finally get to talk and eventually turn that into hanging out. Am I writing the future? Is this like the Stephen King story and my laptop is the Word Processor of the Gods? I drew one scene from real life, and now the rest seems to be following, even to the details which were only in my mind. I’m sure it’s all in my mind. I’m sure the coincidences are, in fact, trite and shallow and nothing that anyone (except a particularly lovelorn and hopeful human being) would see as anything other than not-terribly-outrageous coincidence. But it’s almost uncanny.

If nothing else, it certainly lends that verisimilitude to the story that I was looking for. And actually, I do hope it’s prophetic, because I like the way my story ends. Um…wish me happy editing!

~ by Darren Endymion on April 6, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
