Iceman Comes Out

Okay, this may come as a shock, but I’m kind of a nerd. A geek. A drooling idiot when it comes to super heroes. I always have been, and my favorite super heroes were always the X-men. Not all of them, of course; after a while the characters and their powers blend together (seriously, HOW many people can have super strength before it’s no longer super, but rather average?), I was always a fan. Through my uncle, who is the one who really got me into the X-men, I read his comics of classics like the Dark Phoenix Saga, The X-Tinction Agenda, the X-Cutioner’s Song, Days of Future Past, Age of Apocalypse, and so forth. I still, even now, plan to write a novel about gay super heroes, something I hope and pray will even be half as good as Hero, by Perry Moore. (If you have any interest in the subject, you owe it to yourself to pick this book up.)

When I was a little kid I remember watching a cartoon show that had Spiderman, Iceman, and Firestar, and I always thought Iceman was the coolest (pun intended, I suppose). Ultimately, Iceman and all the male heroes would take a backseat to my favorites — Phoenix, Storm, Psylocke, and Kitty Pryde — but Iceman always remained my favorite male X-man. I never cared about Wolverine until Hugh Jackman’s hotness was featured in the movie role, Nightcrawler was awesome (and often challenged Iceman for my affection), Colossus was cool and hot (for a comic book character), Gambit rocked, Havok was everything his brother wasn’t (read: interesting), and Cyclops was in desperate need of a colonoscopy to locate and remove that stick from his ass, but I never liked any of them as much as Iceman. I had a little boy crush on him when I thought that cartoon characters and super heroes were real.

But I think I have X-men gaydar. I always thought there was something in Colossus that could be gay. I don’t know why…maybe it was because his powered down physique was so much beefcake that I wanted it that way, but I thought something was off. In the Ultimate Universe, Colossus came out. I loved the New Mutants when I was young, and I adored Rictor and Sunspot. There was something about Rictor, too. Sure enough, he eventually came out. (I’ll admit that I never would have guessed about Shatterstar, Rictor’s boyfriend). Now I’m looking at Sunspot like, “Your turn!”

In that same strain, there was always something different about Iceman, too. I remember thinking that there was something undefinably gay about him. He was a smartass philanderer of women, so I didn’t think about it much. Now we have this. Iceman has been outed by Jean Grey. And I wasn’t the only one who thought it. There have been rumors for years, and even Family Guy called it in a cutaway scene where Iceman’s girlfriend follows his ice tracks and yells at him for going to a gay sex theater.

“At least they know how to touch a man! Oooooh, just walk away.”

“At least they know how to touch a man! Oooooh, just walk away.”

This is another time bending thing where young Iceman is gay, but the older one isn’t. Unless it’s a parallel universe bullshit again, then the older one is, too, and always has been. I wonder if that will play out. Still, in the meantime, we have a gay Iceman. He’s not just another random gay X-man like Wiccan or Northstar (technically not even an X-man) or Anole…Bobby Drake/Iceman is one of the originals. He goes back to the first days, days when the X-men consisted of Cyclops, Angel, Beast, Iceman, and Jean Grey.

It’s significant and awesome. He’s not a minor X-man. Before this, the biggest one to come out as gay was Colossus, and that was only in the Ultimate streamline, a parallel universe. Now we have Iceman. I don’t care about any supposed gay agenda (what agenda? Mine is to get a certain Prince Scientist to fall in gay love with me. That’s my only agenda), but it’s nice to see such significant diversity.

The fact that Iceman is one of the first means, in its own way, that there has been a gay X-man as long as there have BEEN X-men. And if that isn’t significant in the X-men universe, then I don’t know what is.

Even Bryan Singer had something to say about it:

http://www.ew.com/article/2015/04/22/bryan-singer-xmen-iceman-gay

And, of course, here is the actual coming out. For some reason, that wall Iceman creates between him and Jean kills me. It’s so true…you create a wall when you come out, against yourself, against accepting it, against the world, against judgment, and against dealing with it. Maybe I’m reading too into it, seeing a metaphor that wasn’t intended, though I doubt it. But that ice wall kills me, and it’s so very goddamned accurate.

Iceman's coming out pt1Iceman's coming out pt2Iceman's coming out pt3

~ by Darren Endymion on April 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
