A Very Geeky Weekend

I decided to take Friday and Monday off in honor of my birthday. And for the hell of it.

My friends took me out to see Avengers: Age of Ultron and then took me back where the few of us hung out, talked, and (via text) discussed the movie with our friend on the East Coast who draws comics for a living (and is very, very good) and is our primary authority for all things geeky. It’s nice to have him around, as I am usually the secondary source (by virtue of lifelong geekdom), and because he knows pretty much everything.

The birthday party they threw me was cute…for a 7 year old boy. Balloons in the color schemes of the Avengers, an Avengers cake, a Rubik’s Cube with the faces of the Avengers on it, and so on. I know those geeky bitches love being a kid as much as I do, and enjoy their machinations even more than I do, but it made me reflect that I’d like to have an adult birthday again, like they haven’t thrown me in years. All our birthdays have turned into parodies of our personalities — exaggerated, fanciful, and entertaining.

Then, with today being the 4th, also known as the day of Star Wars (“May the 4th be with you”) I have basically spent my birthday and the days after either hanging with the Avengers or the Jedi. And I threw in a little Goonies and Elvira just for the hell of it. And I ordered the Star Wars movies on Blu Ray…yes, all six of them. The prequels, episodes I through III have their problems — bad acting, an over-reliance on CG, some lifeless story lines, and Jar Jar Binks (the failed abortion) — but I still like them.

I also got a ridiculously cheap Kindle Fire which will be delivered a week earlier than it was originally projected to be, and I’ve already started to order and sample digital comics to revel in.

So, as you can see, this has been a very, very geeky few days and will continue to be so.

That’s it. It was fun, and I don’t plan to return to the real world for a while. I’ll give it another week and then start working on the writing stuff and the other real world nonsense that always intrudes. *sigh*

(Sorry for the lame post…it was a long, lazy, fun weekend and that’s pretty much the sum total of my thoughts. I had nothing to share. I’ll try to be more interesting next time.)

~ by Darren Endymion on May 4, 2015.

3 Responses to “A Very Geeky Weekend”

  1. Hey dude! Who doesn’t love a bunch of ‘geeky’ days every now and then, where you can show off what you love and have grown up with since you were a kid?

    Also, the post itself was very interesting in my opinion. It’s cool to see a fellow geek enjoying themselves amongst friends.

    Oh, and also, happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

 
