Little Failures, Big Successes

So, I hit a wall. I was moving along, kicking ass and doing all the preliminary work for my new project, editing my short story…when I just pooped out. And you know what? I didn’t get on myself about it. I was working harder than I have in a very, very long time, and going at it like a madman. I’m simply not used to that type of schedule, and it wore on me.

The good thing is that I’m not sitting around and letting that brief inactivity get to me, but rather jumping back on the proverbial horse. I have my edits to turn in tonight or early tomorrow, and I have two (maybe three) more things to do to get to the end of my prep work (which I’m still thinking may be over prepared and overdone…but I guess that depends on how deep I’m willing and prepared to go, right?). I did work on some of this preparatory work over the weekend, but not as much as I would have liked, as I would have liked to be done. My deadlines were pretty aggressive, but I mostly stuck to them.

I’m proud of myself and my accomplishments while simultaneously seeing where I have room to improve. And isn’t that what growth is all about?

One thing I did do, which took up some time yet furthered my cause, was get a desk. Remember that mini, wobbly, portable, roll-away desk I mentioned? Well, with all the health issues I was having, when the billion doctors informed me that I was fine and did not, in fact, have leukemia or anything terrible, I decided that I would rearrange my tiny room and get a little desk. I did so, ordering it from Amazon. It arrived on Sunday.

Having been so inactive for so long because of all the pain I was in, my muscles have weakened considerably. The box the desk was in was heavy, yet I managed to single-handedly shimmy it up the stairs, past two curious dogs, up a few more stairs, and into my room. From there, I let it sit for a while, and eventually built it while in the middle of an awful Leprechaun binge on Netflix. (Don’t judge me). Well, the kneeling, stooping, dragging, and building all beat my body up. I was really sore, but I’m currently at said desk, burning a DVD and typing this. After this, I’m going to reread and proofread my anthology short story, send it away, and then get to the prep work I have for my new stuff.

I’m excited. I accept my failure to stick with the schedule I set myself (though I still have one day to work within my original deadlines), but I am happy with the progress I have made and will continue to make.

~ by Darren Endymion on June 29, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
