Well, THAT sucked

So, I enjoyed most of the entries of this recent A-Z blog challenge, even if very few seemed to get much attention, but I had forgotten how exhausting that challenge is. It’s different from writing a story or a diary or something from inside that you make up as you go along. It’s a series of different subjects requiring research, pictures, and time. Lots and lots of time.

I did no other writing during that time. So, all that work I was lamenting not being able to get into got kicked to the side once I made the commitment to this blog challenge.

As with the one I did last year, I was hoping that it would be a learning experience, that it would teach me writing habits, get me to write every day (or at least six days a week). Unfortunately, all it did was exhaust me and make me want to go for weeks and weeks without writing so much as my name. I glare at keyboards as though they contain scorpions and daggers…

But not all the time. In fact, I finished a section of writing on that project I’ve been working on. I made notes on the next wolf book — in no small part because of a recent review posted on Amazon in which the woman said she came to Amazon to buy the sequel, thinking that it had been so long since publication that there HAD to be a sequel, only to be disappointed. The irony is that I don’t really check reviews anymore unless my publisher sends them out to the writers, and those are usually only the review and critic sites.

So, it sucked. It was hard. It produced almost no new followers and garnered very few likes. It was darker than I had thought it would be. I enjoyed it for itself, and it was tiring, and looking at what I’ve done since then, in just the last few days, I can’t help but think that it wasn’t a failure.

And maybe if didn’t suck as bad as I thought.

~ by Darren Endymion on September 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
