Reviews and Changes

I’m almost certain that I am going to wade into decidedly murky waters for an aspiring writer and start doing book reviews. This won’t be frequent or something I do on every book I read or listen to. If I did that, I could just do it on Amazon or the ever-ghastly GoodReads and be done with it.

I plan to do only books that touch me, tickle me, and take me out on imagination dates. (Perhaps this view of books is why I date little and read slowly? Is there a therapist in the room?!) I will also do ones that affect me as a writer, ones I admire and ones I loathe, and try to pinpoint why I did or dd not like them. Since this is traitorous territory for a writer with basically no standing in the literary world, my opinion is probably laughable…but I like it anyway. And I think I’m funny. So, piss off. *cackle*

I will also likely do it with movies, though less frequently. I also think it will help me to force conciseness on myself as well as entertain me and give me something to write about other than the typical, “Gee, I wish I was writing, but here are the 75,000 mostly fabricated reasons I’m not.”

I’m self aware if nothing else.

I may do this for video games, food, recipes, people…I just don’t know. The people thing…well, that could just resort into good old shit talking. Good lord, can you imagine me doing a review on Gwyneth Paltrow? I can do it in two words. That will be your treat for tonight. Ready?

 

Review: Gwyneth Paltrow

Pretentious twat.

 

Woooooooo! See? That was easier than I thought. This could be fun.

I’ve also stopped publishing these things on my Twitter, since I do that in lieu of real content there. Either my Twitter will die or I will start to put something entertaining there that will likely eventually get me in trouble. Essentially, I’m going to try to liven things up, change them up, and break out of the rut I’m in on this tiny blog as well as my writing junk.

When will the reviews start? Whenever I want. They will be sporadic at first, though that may change. We shall see.

Until next time, thanks for reading.  Unless you’re Gwyneth Paltrow.

~ by Darren Endymion on October 8, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
