Narcolepsy In a Soulless Place

Yesterday I went to see a movie right after work and apparently the excitement was too much for me. I got Del Taco afterwards, ate with my friend, watched American Dad and did something I haven’t done since I was a kid: I willingly went to bed at 8pm.

I didn’t read, I didn’t listen to music, I didn’t even stay awake for much of American Dad. It was all I could do to stay awake. I did write a bit yesterday during my downtime at work (or, rather, I MADE down time, shoving responsibilities off to the side, putting it off all for today. I finished all that and more). Tonight, I have a great deal more energy, and went over some of the stuff I wrote at work, some of the character sketches and notes I made.

How the hell can I tap into my writing imagination in such a dry, dull, soulless place? Is it that my creative side is aching to get out, to break free of the horrors of Corporate America? Was I tired even then and therefore was closer to my subconscious?

Whatever it was, I should shirk my responsibilities at work more often. I had some moments of inspiration. So, yesterday was intuition, creativity, and narcolepsy. I’m not one of those people who think that you can’t be sober or totally conscious for the creative process to work, but sometimes it helps. It was like my body was a vessel and my mind was so tired that all the (self-imposed) blocks were gone.

So, though I lament the early bed time and the soulless job I have with a team I would happily push into a vat of boiling mucus half of the time, it all worked in my favor, proving that you can find inspiration in the strangest of places and situations if you are open to it…or too sleepy to stop it.

~ by Darren Endymion on December 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
