Post-Xmas, Pre-New Year

I was, unfortunately, unavailable to post on Christmas Eve and yesterday. As for yesterday…well, let’s claim I was having sympathy pains for all the narcoleptics I don’t know and took what amounted to a seven hour nap. I woke up, realized I had time to wash my dishes and go to bed, and did so.

Consequently, I am here — ever so late — and am dealing with doing all the stuff I needed to do, including this blog. I’ve been really busy with the holidays, work, and my own personal work. I’ve been trying to put it all together in time for January, when my work will take over my life as it always does at this time.

Christmas’ good feelings are lasting so far (yes, I know it’s only the 29th), and I’m in a much better state of mind than I have been. I’ve been doing a lot of writing and learning a great deal about the process, seeing as I am dealing with multiple viewpoints and agendas (usually nefarious) within the story’s framework. It’s been harder than the last novel I wrote (and both short stories I have had published, for that matter), and I honestly welcome that. I’m always thinking that I’m not up to the mechanics or relaying a writing idea I have, I’m always shoving a project away because it’s difficult or because I think that it’s too involved for my current skill level…but if I don’t challenge myself, I will NEVER be up to that.

So, this is good for me. And I’m not chickening out. Point is, I’ve written a novel about these people before. I adore them. I like them. I want to spend more time with them. I KNOW them. But they evolve as I do, and this is really the next step, both in these novels and in my journey as a writer.

To wrap it up (and it’s cheesy, so be warned), this writing project is my Christmas and my New Year all in one. It’s a gift I’m giving myself, something I’m letting myself fully experience, love, enjoy, and something I’m challenging myself with and learning to grow through. Also, it’s my resolution: to write, to grow as a person and as a writer, and to turn my life into what it should be, what I WANT it to be. I see myself in these characters, I see what I want, and I see who I want to be reflected in their eyes, their actions, and their creation.

Writing changes you. It helps you grow. It’s great therapy. And I’m beginning to believe that if it doesn’t do all these things, then you aren’t doing it right.

~ by Darren Endymion on December 29, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
