The Burden of Entitlement

I’ve unfortunately come face to face with some severe sense of entitlement lately, and I may have to bite through someone’s jugular. I once did a small entry here on narcissism and it was a general look at one of the things that bothers me most. Narcissism, inflated ego, and a sense of entitlement are all linked and they drive me nuts. So, I looked up signs (which I will share later in this entry).

its-all-about-me

Some people at my job are…special. One in particular is not a good worker. He’s very smart, but totally lazy. Rather than do his work, he will find all sorts of new and astounding ways to get out of it. The work he DOES do is wildly subpar. This alone puts him in dead last in the rankings for the team. Sources tell me that his poor performance earned him no raise for the year and a ranking that says he needs to (FINALLY) shape up or be put on corrective action and eventually fired.

He freaked out. He went above everyone’s heads and to our manager, giving a sob story. He’s trying to personally attack me (as the team lead and someone who does the quality assessments) and say that I’m biased and picking on him. What struck me about this is the audacity. You don’t do your work consistently for years and finally have a supervisor who is calling you on it, and you are failing miserably using the same metrics that everyone else on the team has…and you think you’re being picked on? When all the evidence against you is checked by your lead, supervisor, and manager upon request? Seriously? Luckily, the manager knows this guy’s full of excrement, and so nothing has really changed.

crybaby entitlement

Unfortunately, through this smear campaign, the idiot in question has done everything he can to not only bring me down, but to rip apart the team by retelling gossip, twisting it, and putting it out there as fact. As the team lead (and possibly being pushed to be a supervisor *shudder*) I’m trying to play damage control so that the team doesn’t end up in murdering each other over some malcontent’s hateful actions. He feels as though I, our supervisor, the manager, and the people who end up having to pick up his slack should ignore all his shortcomings and award him good quality scores and not only a raise, but a substantial one.

tumblr_n4swy1NNql1qi1zwgo1_500

But it got me thinking about the sense of entitlement that he has and, through this incident, that other people on my team are showing. So, I looked up signs that someone has a bloated sense of entitlement and found this:

1) Expecting that the same rules that apply to others not apply to you.

2) You feel massively put upon when others ask you for favors while expecting people to go out of their way for you.

3) You expect other people to be more interested in you and your life than anyone else’s…even their own. Your goals and dreams are more important than other people’s, not just to you (which they should be) but to others as well.

4) You ignore rules that are intended for everyone’s comfort.

5) You freeload. (See above where he expects others to not only do his work but never say anything about it).

6) You inconvenience others without thinking. (I think the key here is “without thinking”. The arrogance and entitlement within you suggest that it doesn’t matter and so it never occurs to you.)

7) You think it’s okay to upset or offend people. People who can’t handle your “quirks” are weak.

8) You cheat, specifically in places based on reciprocity.

9) When in groups, you think you should be the leader or get the most credit, regardless of your actual contributions.

sense-of-entitlement

Going over this, I see some of these qualities in myself, which is distressing. I’m certain that most people will see some part of themselves in this list. It’s when you have more and more of these tendencies that some real evaluation is needed. However, someone with a severe sense of entitlement (see my story above) doesn’t think there is an issue. It goes on and on. I’m certain that we could all apply these thoughts to someone we know. There are ways to help, but sometimes, like with this, there are only two options: to get rid of the problem or divorce yourself from it. Wish me luck on doing one of them.

~ by Darren Endymion on February 25, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
