That Was a Day Off?!

I took the day off work today. I woke up late, summoned Uber, and sprinted off to my doctor’s appointment. The news I got wasn’t necessarily bad, it was just okay. I’m fine, as I usually am. I was in there for all of 20 minutes and was on my way.

When I got back, my ex, who is essentially a permanent houseguest, even after all the blow ups and nonsense, was the only one here. When I jumped into the shower earlier I walked out to the bathroom wearing boxer briefs and a tank top. I got checked right out. Like obviously looking at my junk and all that. He knew I was coming back and when, yet when I came in, he was wearing these short, short almost basketball shorts without underwear. Not that I haven’t seen it many times before, but I did get an eyeful. He stayed in them for a bit, walking around, doing laundry, then changed when our roommate was about to show up. In the words of my eloquent friend, “Is he trying to get a fuck in before you go?” After that, he avoided me noticeably.

Then I scuttled off to my dental cleaning. The hygienist was amazing and we were done shortly. Unfortunately, I had chipped a tooth — ironically while flossing — and had to have that fixed. I also had a loose filling in another tooth, so I decided to get all that fixed. This is the dentist who worked on me last time. For some reason, I couldn’t get numb. I needed to be injected 4-5 times. He then made a snide remark about some patients being easier to work on than others. It was SO painful and stress inducing that I didn’t go back for a long time. This time, I got numb right away, he didn’t try to upsell me to something I don’t need, and he was great.

When I got back, I was exhausted. I slept for two hours and then woke up. It was so weird. I was groggy for about an hour, I didn’t feel well, I thought that I was going to fall asleep again right away, and I could not concentrate.

Despite that, and with the coaching of a friend, I filled out an application for another apartment and am currently hoping. And hoping some more.

I took the day off for this? Aren’t days off supposed to be relaxing?!

~ by Darren Endymion on July 28, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
