Realizations Through TV

I hate to say it, but sometimes television can teach us things. It’s not usually good stuff, or it’s negative reinforcement.

Having recently moved, there are still more than a couple boxes lying around. Many of them are empty, as we had to have to many living essentials delivered, and the irony is that the empties are blocking the ill-advised mover-made wall of intermingled boxes of DVDs and books. The totality of it is overwhelming and so few things get done. Also, I live in a very eco-conscious state and place, so throwing cardboard away is not an option. There is a separate receptacle for cardboard so that it can be recycled. I think that’s awesome, but it gets full fast and it rains a lot here. See the potential for excuses?

The remedy? Watch one too many episodes of Hoarders.

It’s not a habit or anything yet, and it needs to be, but when I’m alone in the front room (so as not to disturb my friend and roommate) I have been taking the boxes down and flattening them. Well, one time, but progress is progress.

You know how they say that when you’re happy you tend to gain weight? Yeah. I’ve gained. Just about 5 pounds in nearly two months, but it’s not a path I want to go down. I’m usually sitting on the couch, relaxing, watching TV (not enough horror movies for my October, alas), and eating the rather good food my friend makes…and I make on occasion.

The remedy? Watch some My 600 Pound Life.

Last week I went for a good walk, about 2 miles. I have removed my pull up bar from its hiding spot. I don’t plan to go back for seconds (or, let’s be honest, sometimes thirds). I’m eating a lot of Halloween candy this year, but it’s no longer so plentiful and I don’t plan to get more when that’s gone. It has been about eating and making merry, for the most part.

Reality television is poison, and though these are offshoots of that genre, they can teach you things through negative reinforcement. The truth is, I’m happier and happier each day, and therefore nearing contented complacency. That’s a positive thing. Now it’s time to get it all back in line…and still enjoy myself.

~ by Darren Endymion on October 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
