Halloween Draws Nigh

As I write this, half-watching The Amityville Horror (the original, of course. Don’t insult me by thinking I would be into that remake trash someone shat out several years ago.), I can say that I’m finally into the Halloween spirit…just as it’s about to end. This has been strange time for me, but I’m enjoying it overall. It’s certainly better than where I was.

I love the rain here, but I have allowed it to slow me down as far as exploration and, well, everything. I found out today that this has been the third rainiest October on record for this area, and there are still four days left in the month. It does lend a great air to the season, but when you come from a land with no rain and have little experience with it, it does play into your natural tendency to let any moisture falling from the sky stop you from doing things. What I need is some good raingear that will keep me dry and warm and then there will be nothing to stop me.

I look up at the hill beyond my apartment, and it looks like it houses the Spirit of Autumn itself, like it’s where the Great Pumpkin rises up and starts his journey to disappoint Linus. It’s all green and yellow and orange and red, like Mother Nature has taken a brush and set fire to the hills. The tree outside of my room is full of yellow and green leaves, though some of the yellow leaves are starting to turn red at the tips and through the center. It could be Haddonfield, only without Michael Myers, I hope, or Warren Valley, without all the fuckery that happened there. (Don’t feel bad if you didn’t get that last reference. I had to look it up myself. It’s where Trick ‘r Treat took place.)

fall1015-portland

Very near where I live.

However, the city I live in seems to at least have a passing flirtation with Halloween. Having not been here for very long, I have missed out on several events I would have liked to have gone to, but there will be time for that next year…because I plan to be here next year.

One of the good things, though, is the movies. (Did you think I would stray far from that?) There are at least two theaters not too far away that play both second run and old movies. One theater will start playing Let the Right One In with English subtitles. Love that movie. Then, in honor of the season, another will be showing Halloween starting this weekend. I may have to drag my carcass out of the house and go see them both. Alone? Absolutely. Who gives a shit? The possibility of seeing those two movies on the big screen is just too delicious to pass up. And I’d be watching them alone at home anyway. So, hopefully I’ve not become so stagnant and agoraphobic that I will allow these to pass me by.

I believe the Spirit of Halloween in those autumnal hills demands it.

~ by Darren Endymion on October 27, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
