Honeymoon’s Over

January is the busiest month at my work. Usually my team gets busy, but not soul-crushingly busy, yet there is plenty of OT to be had if we want it. Everything is changing, and the month leading up to now has been worse than most Januarys.

When I first moved here and started working from home, it was like the gods shat a rainbow into my lap. I was away from the workplace drama, I was able to work with very few interruptions, I was far ahead in my work, and for the first time in years, I could listen to headphones or an audio book or even *gasp* some simple Netflix stuff on my Kindle Fire (cartoons mostly).

If this last month has been any indication of what is to come, it’s time to look for a new job. All of the perks I so desperately wanted are falling away and are being replaced by the odious burdens I so vehemently loathe.

Drama? Plenty. I went off on an overstepping, hateful, assuming carp (who is technically my subordinate) who was questioning why she wasn’t told something about my job, and who was taking it upon herself to assign me work. I’ve heard nothing more (except congratulations from other team members who aren’t terribly fond of her).

Busy? I cant remember being this busy myself in a very long time. So busy, in fact, that Netflix is almost totally out of the question. Audio books are stopped and started so often that I lose the thread. Music is an option, but barely.

All the things I like about my job are pretty much gone. When it looks like the business is over, it’s about to start up again in a mean, evil way. I’ve been at my job a very long time and I’ve been thinking about all the things I can do making this salary in a place where that’s still considered a lot. Things I never thought I could have are possible…but only if I keep this job or one similar to it.

The bloom is off the rose, and the honeymoon of godly-shat rainbows is over…for now. It might get better. Likely will. I should know by the end of January what I need to do. Hopefully, things will calm down, I can like my job again, and I will allow it to be part of my life, not an overwhelming tidal wave I see and dread every night.

I’m in a tough place, having just moved here, but it has been so liberating that I don’t question that I can. If work threatens to become my life outside of this one busiest month of the year, I will look elsewhere.

I’ll be out.

 

~ by Darren Endymion on December 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
