Reversion of Rights

Today I received the reversion of rights to my one remaining short story and my novel, Winter’s Trial, from my failed publisher, Torquere.

It’s bittersweet, honestly. The people there were always really good to me, despite my lack of production, and it’s sad to see them go. It’s also terrifying, in that I feel as though all that time I spent being published through them was like time wasted. I’m berating myself for not working harder and making more of a name for myself. But to what end? Realistically speaking, if I had made a huge name for myself, I might have moved on anyway…but I would be in the same place.

I am free floating, and that scares me a bit. Of course, my ego says that my book was better than the distribution it got, but it was my first, so what the hell was I really expecting? Not much, honestly.

I’m not an optimist. I try to be, but sometimes it’s like the proverbial square peg into a round hole. So, here’s the forcing part.

I’m trying to think of this as a new beginning, and not a scary one, but rather one full of opportunities. Not only that, but after trying agents (with one personal message), I went to the first publisher on my list and was snatched right up, and those things have to mean something. I chose Torquere because they would put books into print books over a certain word limit. Most of the publishers I was looking at had a word limit after which they wouldn’t put the book into print, but would only have an eBook version. My novel is rather large for the genre. This was very important to me, because the idea of my book having an actual physical copy made me feel legitimate in a way that “just” being published did not.

When I find another publisher, I would like for my book to be in print again, but it’s not as important as it once was. My first choice for a publisher before, if we were to take out the printing part of it, is still open, and I might have a possible in with them, as I know one of their authors. We shall see.

So, it’s a new step. A scary one. I will be published again, that I don’t doubt. It’s just finding a new home and kicking my own ass into gear to actually, you know, write.

Wish me luck.

~ by Darren Endymion on January 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
